Murder At Teal’s Pond: A Must-Read for Twin Peaks and True Crime Fans

Central to the story of Twin Peaks was the mystery about who Laura Palmer really was — much like what happened with Hazel Drew.

--

Murder At Teal’s Pond Book Cover. Image Source: Amazon.com

As a Twin Peaks fan, I ordered Murder at Teal’s Pond as soon as I had heard of it. As a person with a bad memory, I promptly forgot about it until I interacted with co-author David Bushman on Twitter.

I’m glad that I was reminded of it: not only was this page-turner selected as the Oxygen True Crime Book Club January pick but I also couldn’t personally put it down until it was done. David Bushman and Mark T. Givens spent years chasing down all of the clues that they could in order to write about ‘Hazel Drew and the Mystery That Inspired Twin Peaks,’ and their fastidious investigation has rendered an interesting narrative that follows the many strands of this fascinating case.

Twin Peaks, whose inciting event was the murder of Laura Palmer, spent an enormous amount of time trying to figure out exactly who Laura Palmer really was. This also happened with the people who had to investigate her historical counterpart, Hazel Irene Drew, who was murdered and her body dumped in Teal’s Pond in 1908. Hazel’s murder takes us on a narrative tour of the history and politics of…

--

--