Streaming Scots Gaelic: How I’m Learning My Dream Language on the Web

Here’s a List of the Online Resources I’m Using to Learn Scots Gaelic!

One of the strange quirks of working on longer-form essays and stories is the long amounts of time during which I’m doing something, but I’m nowhere close to sharing it. It’s exciting for me to see things coming together, but there’s nothing to particularly publish. It’s like learning a language — far before you can speak it with anyone, there’s a ton of work to learn vocabulary, syntax, and other technicalities about it. On a related note, I’ve been trying to learn Scots Gaelic (and a couple of other languages as well, but that’s a longer story!).

Now, of course I know this is no way to become fluent, but it’s a great way to get started when money is tight and a trip to Scotland for a couple of years for an immersive experience is out of the question!

It all started with this video.

If you’re not familiar with struthless’ work, now is a great time to get to know him. He’s going through the alphabet in a series called “The A to Z of Weird Creative Rabbit Holes”. His content was already amazingly entertaining, but this stuff has ascended to…

--

--